Biography

Casting 2017Jonathan Gagné is a young lyrical tenor with promising talent who completed a B.Mus. in classical singing at Laval University, under Patricia Fournier’s teaching, as well as a Master’s degree at McGill’s Schulich School of Music in John Mac Master’s studio.

From his very beginnings in the world of classical music, he quickly showed commitment and dedication when taking part in his Vocational School’s operetta productions (at the Cégep de Sainte-Foy), displaying passion, determination and natural ease on stage.

Guided by a thirst for challenge and encouraged by his teachers, Jonathan earned a gold medal at the Concours de musique de la Capitale in 2013, after only a year and a half of training in lyrical singing. In 2015, the young singer was a finalist at the CANIMEX Canadian Music Competition in Vancouver, and recipient of a second prize at the ‘Relève musicale de Québec’ competition.

Among the roles he interpreted in his early formative years were «L’abbé Bridaine» in Mousquetaires au Couvent by Louis Varney, «Le Vice-roi» in La Périchole by Jacques Offenbach and «Florestan de Valincourt» in the comic opera Véronique by André Messager. Jonathan was also noticed for his accurate interpretation of the priest «Frollo» in the musical Notre-Dame de Paris presented at the Albert-Rousseau hall in 2015.

In 2016, after a fruitful transition from baritone to tenor, Jonathan brilliantly interpreted «Eisenstein» in La chauve-souris by Johann Strauss II, presented in March 2017 by Laval University’s Opera Workshop. He was also heard at the Palais Montcalm as a soloist in Saint-Saëns’s «Messe à 4 voix, op. 4».

In 2017, Jonathan made his debut as a soloist at the Opéra de Québec in the role of “André Nault” (in the Louis Riel opera produced as part of the Canada 150 celebration) and as “Borsa” in Verdi’s Rigoletto. The next year, he gave a brilliant performance with his interpretation of King Ouf in the comic opera L’Étoile by Chabrier (an event held for the 125th anniversary of the Château Frontenac).

With other houses, he has been “The Philistine messenger” (Samson et Dalila) at the Opéra de Rimouski, as well as the “First priest” / “First armoured man” (Die Zauberflöte), and “Ruggiero” (La liberazione di Ruggiero) at Opera McGill. As for sacred music, the young tenor sang as a soloist in both Bach’s Magnificat and first Christmas Cantata under the baton of maestro Dany Wiseman.

Recently, he performed the role of “Abdallo” in Nabucco at the Opéra de Québec and sang as a soloist in Mozart’s Requiem with Anima Musica in Montreal. He also was one of the soloists of the “Brigade lyrique” during the 2019 Festival d’opéra de Québec.

This season, Jonathan made his debut as “Rinuccio” in a critically acclaimed Gianni Schicchi by Puccini with Opera Mariposa in Vancouver as well as sung a “Lippo Fiorentino” loved by the audience in Opera McGill’s production of Street Scene by Kurt Weil.

The young tenor’s upcoming engagements include: guest soloist in concert “Les carnavals du monde” at the Capitole de Québec, soloist in Von Suppé’s Requiem with the OSL and the Choeur de Laval as well as the creation of “Le prince des lys”‘s role in the new opera Peau d’âne by the composer Jean-François Mailloux.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close

Biographie

Casting 2017Originaire de Québec, Jonathan Gagné est un jeune ténor lyrique au talent prometteur qui a obtenu un baccalauréat en interprétation du chant classique, à l’Université Laval, sous les enseignements de Patricia Fournier. Il vient aussi tout juste de terminer une maîtrise à la Schulich School of Music de l’Université McGill dans la classe de chant du ténor canadien John Mac Master.

Dès ses débuts dans le monde de la musique classique, Jonathan a su s’impliquer rapidement dans les productions d’opérettes du programme de musique du Cégep de Sainte-Foy grâce à sa passion, sa détermination et à une aisance naturelle pour l’art de la scène.

Guidé par sa soif du défi et encouragé par ses professeurs, Jonathan a remporté une médaille d’or au concours de musique de La Capitale en 2013, après seulement un an et demi d’apprentissage du chant lyrique. En 2015, le jeune chanteur a obtenu un deuxième prix au Concours d’art lyrique de « La Relève musicale de Québec » et était de la finale nationale du Concours de musique du Canada, à Vancouver.

Parmi les rôles qu’il a interprétés au début de sa formation, on retrouve « L’abbé Bridaine » des Mousquetaires au Couvent de Louis Varney, « Le Vice-roi » de La Périchole de Jacques Offenbach et « Florestan de Valincourt » de l’opérette Véronique d’André Messager. De plus, Jonathan s’est fait remarquer pour sa juste interprétation du prêtre « Frollo » dans la comédie musicale Notre-Dame de Paris à la salle Albert-Rousseau, en 2015.

En 2016, après une transition fructueuse de baryton à ténor, Jonathan a rayonné par son interprétation du rôle d’« Eisenstein » dans La chauve-souris de Johann Strauss II, présentée en mars 2017 par l’Atelier d’opéra de l’Université Laval. La même année, on a pu l’entendre au Palais Montcalm, comme soliste dans la « Messe à 4 voix, op. 4 » de Saint-Saëns.

En 2017, Jonathan a fait ses débuts comme soliste à l’Opéra de Québec comme « André Nault » dans Louis Riel d’Harry Somers, ainsi que « Matteo Borsa » dans Rigoletto de Verdi.

En mars 2018, le jeune ténor a brillé par son élaboration du roi « Ouf 1er » dans l’opéra bouffe L’Étoile d’Emmanuel Chabrier, présenté par l’Atelier d’opéra de l’Université Laval aux festivités du 125e anniversaire du Château Frontenac, ainsi qu’à la faculté de musique.

Par la suite, le jeune ténor incarnait le « Messager philistin » dans Samson et Dalila à l’Opéra de Rimouski ainsi que les rôles du « Premier prêtre » / « Premier homme en armure » (Die Zauberflöte) et de « Ruggiero » (La liberazione du Ruggiero) à Opéra McGill. À l’oratorio, il chanta comme soliste dans le Magnificat de Bach, ainsi que dans la Première cantate de Noël sous la baguette du maestro Dany Wiseman.

Récemment, il incarnait « Abdallo » dans Nabucco de Verdi à l’Opéra de Québec et était soliste dans le Requiem de Mozart avec le chœur Anima Musica. Il fut aussi un des quatres solistes de la Brigade lyrique durant le Festival d’opéra de Québec 2019.

Cette saison, Jonathan a débuté le role de « Rinuccio » dans Gianni Schicchi de Puccini à Vancouver avec Opera Mariposa et a interprété un « Lippo Fiorentino » fort aimé du public dans la production de Street Scene de Kurt Weil à Opéra McGill.

Les prochains engagements du jeune ténor incluent : soliste invité au spectacle « Les carnavals du monde » au Capitole de Québec, soliste dans le Requiem de Von Suppé avec l’OSL et le Choeur de Laval ainsi que le création du rôle « Le prince des lys » dans le nouvel opéra « Peau d’âne » du compositeur Jean-François Mailloux.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close